United Nations Security Council

United Nations Security Council

The UN Charter established the six main organs of the Organization, including the Security Council, which has the primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security and which can be convened whenever peace is threatened.

According the UN Charter, the United Nations has four purposes:

  • To maintaining international peace and security;
  • To develop friendly relations among nations;
  • To cooperate in solving international problems and in promoting respect for human rights;
  • To be a center for harmonizing the actions of nations

The Security Council has 15 members, 5 permanent and 10 non-permanent. Each member has one vote and only the five permanent members have veto power. The Security Council presidency rotates monthly and alphabetically among all members of the Security Council.

All Members of the United Nations are committed to accepting and implementing the decisions of the Security Council. While other organs of the United Nations make recommendations to the UN member states, only the Security Council has the power to take decisions which Member States are required to implement under the Charter.

Given the existence of threats to peace or acts of aggression, the Security Council leads the discussions in order to find peaceful solutions, calls on the parties to cooperate in order to reach an agreement through peaceful means and recommends methods of adjustment or terms of agreement. In certain cases the Security Council can impose sanctions and even authorize the use of force in order to maintain or restore international peace and security.